The City of Cherokee has a Mayor/Council form of government with a City Administrator and five council members. The city is divided into three wards, with one council member elected from each ward and two elected at-large, which means that everyone in all three wards may vote for them. The Mayor is elected by the voters for a term of four years, and the council is elected for staggered four year terms.


416 West Main Street, Cherokee IA 51012 (712) 225-5749